Cross Posting – Pie Wisdom

This was originally posted on my family food blog, but I thought that I should have it here as well. If you’ve already read this there, please pardon the redundancy:
Paul C over at quoteflections asks:

What is your skill which has been developed through practice and experience? You have respect for this skill and are always open to refinements.

I make pies. And in a nod to Garr Reynolds at Presentation Zen and his reflection on the artistry of jazz, my reflection on Pie Crusts.

Twenty-one things I’ve learned from pie crust

Plenty of Pie for all
Plenty of Pie for all
  • A good recipe is the best road map.
  • Never try to double a batch. It makes sense to stay small.
  • The harder you work it, the worse it tastes.
  • Enjoy getting messy.
  • Simple is best, but flashy has its moments.
  • It’s about the fruit.
  • Create for more than the taste. It should smell and look amazing, too.
  • Too many pies and they are no longer special.
  • It’s possible to make a classic with a twist.
  • It doesn’t matter if your pie crust isn’t perfect; don’t be afraid to just roll one out.
  • Broken pie crust tastes delicious, too.
  • You have a taste for a pie? Make one!
  • Sure, it’s cool if you don’t need a recipe, but those that eat the pie can’t tell the difference.
  • Pretentious pie might as well have come from Baker’s Square.
  • Enjoy the process – eat a slice of apple coated in cinnamon and sugar if you want.
  • Invite someone to share the pie with you – it tastes better when you share.
  • Simplicity is supremely delicious; avoid the lure of too many flavors.
  • Empty pan means a full stomach.
  • Fruit, sugar, flour, heat.
  • If you think you have mastered the crust, you’ve probably begun to compromise.
  • Bake, bake, bake.
  • Generosity and curiosity are your greatest gifts; nurture them in yourself and in those who share your table.

5 Comments Add yours

  1. Paul C says:

    Hi Kate,
    I enjoy your poetic adaptation and your colourful, mouth watering picture. “Enjoy the process…” My mother-in-law is the phenomenal baker in our family. (Just a small point; my site is quoteflections – a play on the two words.

  2. Kate Tabor says:

    Oh, Paul – My old eyes are seeing what they want to see! I’ve gone back and done some blog archeology and corrected my (multiple) misspellings of your blog’s name. Mea Culpa!

    I have my grandmother’s rolling pin. It’s got the pie mojo.

  3. I may post this in my kitchen. =)

  4. Kate Tabor says:

    @Doyle – You have no idea how honored I am just at the thought. Some day we’ll share a pie. Knowing you, I will make it apple.

  5. Silapolxxzz says:

    Hello !

    I’m new on this forum so I introduce me…

    My name is Jason I’m 27 years old, I’m Spanish.

    I like: Tennis and baseball…

    Nice to meet you

Leave a comment